Beginning My Foray Into French Football – Part 1

Anyone who has listened to The Football Pub knows that I have a odd love for the less popular leagues in the footballing world. After much thought , and a little nudge from Dave Trotter’s appearance on our show, I’ve decided to adopt the French Ligue 1 as my next league of choice.

 

I needed to find a league obscure enough that myself, and others, would not say that I picked a safe bet. I wanted this to feel like a bit of a footballing adventure. But I also needed a league popular enough that I would not lose interest quickly, or have tons of trouble finding a way to watch matches. Ligue 1 fits the bill perfectly.

 

You do not run across French Football supporters on a daily basis. I am going to have to actively search out French Football supporters, and will once again feel like I support a niche sport. Also there are a few matches televised here in The States, as well as some via some shadier means.

 

I also do not have to worry about losing interest due to the level of play. French Football flat out produces great players. A lot of recent histories’ greats have come out of the French system. Frenchmen have won the second most FIFA World Player of the Year Awards, and have produced the most runners up. France has also produced four (the third most) Ballon d’Or winners. The fact that I may be watching the next Henry, Zidane, or Deschamps is quite intriguing.

 

So, now that I have found my league, I need to find my club. In part two of this series, I will be going through the current Ligue 1 sides to find a club that fits me. If you have any suggestions please leave them in the comments. I will be blogging throughout the season about my chosen club and my experiences trying to follow them from America.

5 Responses

  1. I wouldn’t exactly call Ligue 1 obscure. As far as I can tell we’ve got more of a following in the states than the Bundesliga. Anyway, you should support PSG. Duh. 🙂

    • I think calling is more popular in the States than the Bundesliga is a stretch. Just from looking at web traffic across different sites, I don’t think it’s close. True: that’s only one standard, but it’s a damn good one.

  2. Well, bloggers on the Offside have access to the monthly stats for each blog, and not only are there more blogs on Ligue 1 sides, but they get more traffic and that amount is growing more quickly.

  3. I think this is an argument of degrees. Either league’s support in The States is a fraction of the following The Premier League, La Liga, or even Serie A has over here.

Comments are closed.

