Nicolas Anelka to retire from international play, according to his brother.

From Inside Minnesota Soccer:

31-year old Nicolas Anelka will announce his retirement from the French Football Federation in the next few days according to his brother Claude. The French forward made 69 appearances for Les Bleus scoring 14 goals between 1998 and 2010.

Nicolas Anelka was sent home from the World Cup after he refused to apologize to French coach Raymond Domenech after getting into a verbal altercation with the manager. Domenech supposedly criticized Anelka’s play.

“My aim was never to destabilize the French team, an institution I respect,” said Anelka. “I accept my exclusion from the France team and I wish them good luck. I have a lot of respect for the France team, I equally have a lot of respect for all of my teammates without exception, I insist on that point.”

The French went crashing out of the tournament on Tuesday morning with a loss to South Africa 2-1 in their third round game of group A.

Speaking to IMS after his Tuesday night Lamar Hunt US Open Cup victory over the NSC Stars by a score of 1-0, older brother Claude said he had recently talked to Nicolas about the incident.

Read more >>

One Response

  1. Good news that he’s retiring. There arent many good reasons for him to stick around.

Comments are closed.

